To be eligible to take Behind-the-Wheel with Old Dominion Driving School a student must have completed the 36 periods of classroom instruction and received your certificate of completion and be 17 years old or younger. THIS PROGRAM IS NOT FOR STUDENTS 18 YEARS OLD. If you are 18 years old please see the note on Teen DMV Licensing Requirements Page on the link to the left.
Student must have completed at least 20 hours of on road instruction with a parent/guardian to enroll in Behind-the-Wheel. This must include driving on main roads not just in your neighborhood. Virginia Law requires a total of 45 hours (30 daytime and 15 after sunset)
Behind-the-Wheel is 14 periods longs which consists of 7 periods of driving and 7 periods of observation. Lessons are 7 consecutive days usually only week days (Monday-Friday). May include an occasional Saturday. During the school year lessons are after a student gets of out of school in the afternoon. During the summer months we start as early as 8 am.
We pick-up and drop-off the student for the behind-the-wheel sessions in most locations. We service most of the Virginia Beach area and some parts of Chesapeake. (Some locations require special arrangements.)
Students that are 17 years old and under are given their driving test by the instructor. Once they have passed the driving test they are issued their 180-day temporary license (provided they have met the DMV requirements that are provided on the link to the left.
Behind-the-Wheel sessions are made by APPOINTMENT ONLY. The best way to schedule an appointment for behind-the-wheel is by clicking on the link below or on the left hand side and completing the Registration Form. We will review your scheduling requirements and give you a call. Submission of the form does not guarantee we can meet your specific needs at this time. We will do everything we can to accommodate your needs.